Skip to Content
AFT 1521

AFT1521 LA College Faculty Guild @West


2020 Guild Elections


AFT 1521@West Chapter Meetings
Most Third Thursdays 5-6:30 PM except *
Sep 17 
Oct 22*
Nov 19
Board of Trustee Candidate Forum
October 8, 1:30-3 PM
Tenure Review Guidelines:
October 9, 2020, Friday, 12-12:45 PM
October 15, Thursday, 2-2:45 PM
Adjunct Faculty Workshops:
Seniority and Health Insurance September 24, 5-6:30 PM
Taxes & Retirement: October 29, 5-6:30 PM

AFT1521, LA College Faculty Guild @West

~ 450 West faculty members full and part-time
West faculty union members are part of a larger labor movement supporting the rights of working people, to build an America that works for us all.
  • LA College Faculty Guild (9 campuses and Emeritus chapter)
  • LA County Federation of Labor
  • California Federation of Teachers and Classified
  • American Federation of Teachers

West Chapter Team:

President Grace Chee
Grievance Representative Vacant  
Work Environment Committee Chair Charles Daniel
Accreditation Steering Committee – Grace Chee
Budget Committee – Grace Chee, Lorenzo Ybarra (Accounting)
College Council – Bonnie Blustein (Math) Grace Chee, Anna Chiang (Computer Science), Eric Wang (Music) Counseling Chair/Budget Committee (alternate)
Curriculum – Sherice Bellamy (Business)
Distance Education – Linda Alexander (Language Arts), Sandra Ruiz (Language Arts), Jan Vanderpool (Comp Science)  
Enrollment Management (3) – Sherice Bellamy (Business), Veintwain Herron (Athletics) Buck Stapleton (AJ)
Facilities Committee (3) – Parvaneh Ghaforyfard (Computer Science), Marguet Miller (Athletics) Jack Moy (Applied Technology) 
Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PIE) (3) – Casey Hunter (Counseling), Daniel Ruiz (Counseling) Raquel Medina (Health Sciences)
Professional Growth Committee - Heidi Luo (Social Science) & Manish Patel (Computer Science)
Technology Committee (3) – Jeanene Ames (Language Arts), Ryan Edwards (Library), Charles Mcintyre (Film Production)
Barham Guild Appointments
Adjunct Faculty Issues Committee (AFIC) Representatives – Sherice Bellamy (Business), Michael Harris (Social Science)
Committee on Political Education (COPE) Lorenzo Ybarra (Accounting)
Election Committee Charles Daniel (Accounting)
Barharm Guild Volunteers
Social Justice Committee - Bonnie Blustein (Math), Selby Chase (Learning Center), Jennifer Cole (Science) and 1 other…
AFT members
West Chapter Eboard Delegates: 
West Faculty Chapter gets 5 voting delegates to the 9-campus Guild
3rd Tuesdays (1521 Guild@Barham Eboard 2-4 PM)
  1. Grace Chee
  2. Casey Hunter
  3. Mark Rose
  4. Ken Taira
  5. Vacant