Skip to Content

hide

STAFF

CANDICE BECERRA

Secretary

x4421

 

KAREN BURZYNSKI
Academic Scheduling Specialist
x4297

 

JUDITH FIERRO

Administrative Secretary
x4374

 

CHRISTINE GOMEZ
Senior Secretary
x4494

 

HECTOR GUTIERREZ

Senior Secretary

x4394

 

ASHANTI LYLES

Senior Secretary
x4395

 

JAMINA RUSSELL

Secretary

x4292


LOCATION:

CE,  1st FLOOR

hide

WLAC

hide

WELCOME TO ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

hide

"Committed to Innovative Programs and Responsive Community Services"

 

The Office of Academic Affairs

provides coordination and support for all academic and personnel matters, programming, and other issues pertaining to the academic standards and mission of the instruction

Aracely Aguiar, Vice President and her staff are committed to providing academic administrative support to the college and most significantly to the faculty; to ensure that they have the tools required to meet the needs of West's students. We provide these services through the following:

  • Academic Programs & Curriculum
  • Accreditation
  • Faculty Review
  • Forms
  • New Faculty Orientation
  • Planning & Research
  • Program Review (Viability)
  • Schedule Production
  • Student Learning Outcomes

Deans of Academic Affairs

      Mary-Jo Apigo

      Dean of Teaching and Learning, (310-287-4410  Apigomj@wlac.edu 

      Carmen Dones

      Dean of Health Sciences, (310) 287-4522, Donescm@wlac.edu

  • Health Sciences
  • Kinesiology

 

      Cari Hildebrandt

      Associate Dean (Acting), Westside Extension and Contract Education, (310) 287-4541, 

      hildebC@wlac.edu

  • Contract Education
  • West Language Academy
  • Westside Extension 

      Eric Ichon

      Dean of Distance Learning and Library, (310) 287-4558, Ichone@wlac.edu

      Cyrus Helf, Multimedia Specialist  x4592   Helfco@wlac.edu 

      Hadi Dabbagh, Online Technical Support Assistant  x4306 dabbagh@wlac.edu

  •  Distance Learnimg
  •  Library

      Walter Jones, Ed.D.

      Dean of General Education and Transfer,  310-287-4244, Joneswc@wlac.edu

  • Language Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Sciences

      Kimberly Manner, Ph.D., Dean of Academic Affairs, 310-287-4551, Mannerke@wlac.edu 

  • Applied Technology
  • Arts and Performance
  • Behavioral Science
  • Business
  • Computer Science and Applications

  

Division Chairs and Disciplines

Abraha Bahta, Science,  (310) 287-4236 | BahtaA@wlac.edu

  • Astronomy
  • Biology (Anatomy, Microbiology, Physiology)
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Oceanography
  • Physics

 

Bonnie Blustein, Mathematics,  (310) 287-4217  BlusteB@wlac.edu  

  • Mathematics

 

Anna Chiang, Computer Science & Applications,  (310) 287-4253  ChiangA@wlac.edu  

  • Applications and Office Technology
  • Computer Science Information Technology

 

Dolores Gallegos, Behavioral Science,  (310) 287-4446  Gallegd@wlac.edu

  • Administration of Justice
  • Anthropology
  • Child Development
  • Corrections
  • Family and Consumer Studies
  • Fire Technology
  • Psychology

 

Ricardo Hooper, Kinesiology,  (310) 287-4513  Hooperra@wlac.edu

  • Kinesiology
  • Kinesiology Major

 

Sholeh Khorooshi, Social Sciences  (310) 287-4539  Khoroos@wlac.edu

  • Economics
  • History
  • Paralegal Studies
  • Political Science
  • Sociology

 

Fran Leonard, Language Arts,  (310) 287-4203  LeonarFT@wlac.edu

  • Arabic
  • Communication Studies
  • ESL
  • English
  • French
  • Humanities
  • Japanese
  • Philosophy
  • Spanish

 

Gerald Ludwig, Business,  (310) 287-4434  Ludwiger@wlac.edu

  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Finance
  • Hospitality
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Real Estate

 

Jack Moy, Applied Technology,  (310) 287-4514  MoyJM@wlac.edu

  • Aviation Maintenance Technology

 

Laura Peterson, Arts & Performance  (310) 287-4571  PetersL@wlac.edu

  • Art
  • Cinema
  • Dance Studies / Techniques
  • Film Production
  • Multimedia
  • Music
  • Theater

 

Carlos Sermeno, Health Sciences  (310) 287-7224  Sermenc@wlac.edu

  • Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies
  • Allied Health
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
  • Dental Assistant
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Health Occupations
  • Medical Assistant
  • Paramedic
  • Pharmacy Technician 

 

Susan Trujillo, Library,  (310) 287-4406  TrujilS@wlac.edu

  • Education
  • Learning Skills
  • Library Science
  • Supervised Learning Assistance