Skip to Content
WLAC

hide

Resources

hide

Global News and Research Sites

The Centre for Research on Globalization—a Canadian website with stories and analysis from around the world…… http://www.globalresearch.ca/

World Digital Library….. http://www.wdl.org

 

AFRICA

Mail & Guardian ( South Africa ) …. http://mg.co.za/

Guardian Newspaper ( Nigeria ) …. http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/

 

THE AMERICAS

Argentina -- http://www.buenosairesherald.com/

Canada -- http://www.cbc.ca

Global Post ( US ) …. http://www.globalpost.com/

 

ASIA

Times of India ( India ) …. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/international-home

Jakarta Post ( Indonesia ) …. http://www.thejakartapost.com/

Asahi Shimbun ( Japan )  …. http://ajw.asahi.com/

Japan Times ( Japan ) …. http://www.japantimes.co.jp/

Korea Times ( Korea ) …. http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/index.asp

People’s Daily ( China ) …. http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/

News International ( Pakistan ) …. http://www.thenews.com.pk/

 

AUSTRALIA / NEW ZELAND

New Zealand Herald ( New Zealand ) …. http://www.nzherald.co.nz/

Sydney Morning Herald ( Australia ) …. http://www.smh.com.au/

 

EUROPE

France 24 ( France ) …. http://www.france24.com

Deutsche Welle ( Germany ) …. http://www.dw.de

Der Spiegel ( Germany ) …. http://www.spiegel.de/international/

Irish Times ( Ireland ) …. http://www.irishtimes.com/

Moscow Times ( Russia ) …. http://themoscowtimes.com

Economist ( UK )  …. http://www.economist.com

BBC News ( UK ) ….. http://www.bbc.com

 

MIDDLE EAST

EnetEnglish ( Greece ) …. http://www.enetenglish.gr/

Haaretz Daily ( Israel ) …. http://www.haaretz.com/

Jerusalem Post ( Israel ) …. http://www.jpost.com/

Al Jazeera ( Qatar ) …… http://www.aljazeera.com

Arab News ( Saudi Arabia ) …… http://www.arabnews.com

Turkish Press ( Turkey ) …. http://www.turkishpress.com/


Youtube Videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cbn08FYElU Ted Talk International Education

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4XF8GCXYtM Ted Talk How does one become a global citizen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2Bd8pNYH8A Ted Talk How and why travel transforms you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwM0Oob_MRE First lady importance of international ed

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=493uXtbp95Q First lady importance of studying abroad

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VB6CuHUhM6s Japanese Fish Market

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33fJZMiksoI Best Sushi in the world

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUVcxa-wGcE Most expensive food in the world

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tScSL9eJ6Cw Cricket India national sport

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Alyj64_368g National Geographic wild beasts of the jungle


What can I do with a major in…

http://careers.washington.edu/sites/default/files/all/editors/docs/students/whatcanidowith_internationalstudies.pdf International Studies

http://www.pdx.edu/intl/sites/www.pdx.edu.intl/files/Careers%20-%20MTS.pdf Global Studies


Regional and World Sources

AllAfrica.com ( Africa ) …. http://allafrica.com/

Online Newspapers (newspapers from around the world) …. http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/

World newspapers ( links to newspapers from around the world ) … http://www.world-newspapers.com

World Press ( articles and commentary from around the world ) …. http://www.worldpress.com


Global Sustainability

Science Daily’s Sustainability news … http://www.sciencedaily.com/news/earth_climate/sustainability/

World Resources Institute …. http://www.wri.org/

Stockholm Environmental Institute …. http://www.sei-international.org/


Migration and the movement of peoples

Migration Policy Institute … http://www.migrationpolicy.org

Migration Policy Center (A UK research institution focusing on migration from a European point of view ) … http://www.migrationpolicycentre.eu

The International Organization for Migration …. http://www.iom.int/cms/home

The United Nations High Commission on Refugees …. http://www.unhcr.org

Human Development Reports of the United Nations Development Programme …. http://hdr.undp.org/en


Broad global issue research centers

OxFam International (an international non governmental agency working to end poverty and hunger ) … http://www.oxfam.org/

Pew Global (research on global issues  ) …. http://www.pewglobal.org

Chatham House, a UK think tank, produces unique reports and events on topics of global concern …. http://www.chathamhouse.org/publications